Hiking & Biking: a paradox

4 thoughts on “Hiking & Biking: a paradox”

  1. When I travel I wear a pair of Sidi Crossfires. See on soles. Not the supermoto style. Hey work for my level of hiking. I wear synthetic running socks. Synthetic drys quick. I carry a pair of Teva style sandals and wool socks for off the bike in camp. I have hiked five mikes in them. Though I’ve also worn the Crossfires and a pair of Discoveries for similar hikes. The Crossfires worked for fly fishing too. I just needed to pay attention more than with waders.

    Like

    1. I never understood sandals. I think I head off trail and into burrs and rocks too often. Plus I have a mental block where sandals are supposed to cost $10, so the trail-ready ones would never suit me. On top of that, the trail ready ones take up as much space as shoes. I want the magic bullet. I have always known Bates to make superior footwear from my military days. Their dress shoes could be worn for 10 hours on your feet. You could dance in them. But their riding gear did not have hiking in mind, so I worry they would not pass muster. I wish I knew someone at the company: I could be a perfect test mule. The miles I put in on the bike, combined with urban trekking in the San Francisco hills, plus the Marin/Napa trails… I could find weak points. You add to that my R&D experience and military time spent writing reports? Damnit, they should be paying me I tell ya.

      Someone needs to make the magic bullet. We don’t need MotoGP/Dakar level protection on the street. Hipsters, youngsters, and old timers are all out on the trail trying to reconnect with nature. Footwear is a flagship purchase out of need and the statement. Screw showing your friends you are a burly adventurer with a Scrambler or $17,000 Adv rig; a good do-everything boot is something you can wear inside the Starbucks to make a point about how trail-ready you are 😉

      Like

      1. The problem of flip flop level protection in a shoe is what kept sandals out of my closet for a long time. I got a pair on a sale for less than
        My usual flip flops. Narrow feet with instep issues means I never get to buy cheap stuff.
        Back in the day I used to buy these Italian hiking boots. They were about $40 back then and would last about a year of work. The chemicals and oil in the shop killed
        Most things. 18% saltwater solution and sulfur-based oils and other nasty chemicals would rot anything.
        Those old boots were great when riding the Norton.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

